Burlington By The Book to handle mail orders for ‘Beloved Burlington’ and ‘Sutter’s Sodas Satisfy’

chris murphy and jane sutter brandt
Chris Murphy and author Jane Sutter Brandt with Jane’s new book: “Beloved Burlington: Featuring businesses you knew and loved!”

I’m thrilled to announce that Burlington By The Book is the official mail-order vendor for my two books: Beloved Burlington: Featuring businesses you knew and loved! and Sutter’s Sodas Satisfy: A memoir of 90 years of Sutter Drug Co. 

Chris Murphy is the owner of Burlington By The Book, a gem of a store in downtown Burlington, Iowa. Chris has been an enthusiastic supporter and adviser to me ever since I walked into his independent book store in August 2014 and I told him I was in the process of writing a book about my family’s drug store. He loved the idea, and he immediately offered to host a book signing once the book was complete.

As they say, the rest is history, and given that the bulk of my book sales are from patrons at his store, I am excited that he has agreed to handle the mail orders. Fittingly, Burlington By The Book, at 300 Jefferson, is directly opposite the location of the Sutter Drug flagship store that was located for more than 50 years in the Tama Building.

I’m bullish on small businesses, and I do not sell my books on Amazon or any other website.  Shop local, please!

Related post: New book on Burlington Iowa businesses beloved by Baby Boomers 

Each book is $19.99 plus tax and shipping costs. To place an order, call Burlington By The Book at 319-753-9981. Their business hours are (central time zone):

Sunday – 9 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Monday – 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.

Tuesday – 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.

Wednesday – 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.

Thursday – 9 a.m. to 7 p.m.

Friday – 9 a.m. to 7 p.m.

Saturday – 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Burlington By The Book is much more than a book store. Chris has many Burlington-related items, along with children’s toys. All of these make great gifts! And he can order any book that you want and ship it to you, too.

With Christmas coming soon, don’t delay in ordering your books to get them in time for gift giving.  And thank you in advance for your order!